Old Saint Paul's


File:St Paul's old. From Francis Bond, Early Christian Architecture. Last book 1913..jpg


File:St Pauls Cathedral in 1896.JPG


File:St Pauls aerial (cropped).jpg



Saint Paul's Cathedral  has existed as 5 or 6 churches or cathedrals at Ludgate Hill in the City of London, all dedicated to Saint Paul.

The first and subsequent places of worship at Ludgate Hill were :

The Roman Temple to the god Diana.

The 1st Saint Paul's Church  -  built by Bishop later Saint Mellitus in 604 AD.

The 2nd Saint Paul's Cathedral  -  built by Bishop later Saint Cedd in 658 AD.

The 3rd Saint Paul's Cathedral  -  built by Bishop later Saint Erkenwald in 675 AD.

The 4th Saint Paul's Cathedral  -  started by Bishop Maurice in 1087 to 1314 AD.

The 5th Saint Paul's Cathedral  -  built by Christopher Wren in 1675 to 1710 AD.

Although the bishops commissioned and presided over the work to construct the new churches and cathedrals, the order or approval and the cost of them was born by the kings in power at those times.

It was King William I - The Conquerer who ordered the building of the new much larger cathedral which has been called "The Old Saint Paul's". It was in construction for 227 years from 1087 to 1314 AD and it was in use as a church from 1240 to 1675 AD.