'The Reading Rooms' is a Registered Charity, number 301252.

It is managed by a committee which is elected at the Annual General Meeting and has members who represent the regular users of the premises and the Town Council.

The Committee meets every two months to :

      • consider the financial status of the Foundation,
      • review maintenance of the premises,
      • consider current and potential users of the premises,
      • review hire fees (annually)
      • attend to any other matter that is relevant to the wellbeing of the Foundation


The Annual General Meeting was held on 24th April 2018 (and adjourned to 28th August)

Here is the Chairman's Report

Here is the Trustee's Annual Report

Here are the AGM Minutes


The Trustees are:- 

      • Mr Andy Maddocks (Chairman) 
      • Mrs Sam Ruston (Vice-Chairman)
      • Mr Peter Sharp (Treasurer)
      • Mrs Sheila Pullin (Letting Officer) 
      • Mr Dave Hawke (Secretary) 
      • Mrs Mary Deane  
      • Mr Brin McPherson 
      • Mr Kevin Reilly
      • Mr Leslie Sheppard


The Committe consists of the Trustees plus:

      • None at present


The Friends of the Reading Rooms are:-

      • Mr Stephen Foggo 
      • Mr Matthew Ruston 
      • Mr Terry Gregson


At the time of the 2018 AGM there were no active Youth Delegate Members.